Daily Archives: October 14, 2013

Night Walk


To walk in the night, 
with glitter and gold;
to know free will, 
as its recklessly known
and to feel like a lion,
who is cold from inside, 
has made me realize, 
why men wish not to cry. 
 
The streets are known, 
yet the pavement is waxed, 
with the minds of us people, 
all wrinkly and worn.
 
To know I can,
with nothingness in mind, 
isn’t too bad, 
in the boundaries of will.
 
A rarity in its own…….

Black Today


I would like to begin my sentence with, ‘Today was a good day.’ However, I cannot say it for I am not quite sure whether the day in itself was bad. But a certain aspect of it sure drove me up the wall. What is it about technology that drives the un-savvy tech bound human lot into madness?( the term, ‘madness’ being relative) I woke up considerably happy in my room; I might as well think of  my physical space as one of those stores which resemble fish markets during a sale. So, once I got the pile of clothes, lying on my carpet out of the way, I made my way to my balcony and there was nothing but a bright ball of yellow staring me in my pale, vitamin D deprived face. 

I picked out something different to wear today. When you think about it, black has unfortunately been categorized into one of the many sections called, ‘Formals’. I guess most companies figured that ‘a dress code’ must be obviously boring, badly stitched and there must be a sense of uniformity for too much color seems to put the boss in distress and the chances of him/her looking up at his surroundings increase and that, I must use this jargon-OMG, cannot be allowed ( self-control being necessarily absent), for that is a factor that automatically may reduce work efficiency and thereby lower the profit margins.

But let me get back to the color ‘black’. It really isn’t always about the little black dress and the tall black heels. Black goes way deeper- a color which isn’t quite one; worn at funerals; symbolic of oppression and hey lets not forget the EMO code for, ‘I need to be pitied because my life sucks so bad. So I’ll wear black to represent the ‘darkness‘ in my life. ‘ Interestingly, the color has been transformed into a variety of symbols- each representing a history of certain experiences. 

But what has black to do with my first question. What does it have to do with my having a bad day and with the unpredictability of technology? 
Well, I guess when the screen goes black just a bit too often for comfort, the lack of colors ranging between black and white, scream out for attention.
There is nothing more frustrating then when a computer screen says, ‘ *** you’ in its little weird silent language. There is nothing more sadistic then technology telling you who the master is. And believe me on this one, no they don’t care if your life depends on them.

And so that’s my history with black today. I will most likely feel different about it tomorrow. The color or lack of it, is best left to the relativity of its association and today Black is anything but ‘sexy’ to me!